Between Enugu and Anambra: Which Is the Newer State That is 25 Years Today?

Between Enugu and Anambra: Which Is the Newer State That is 25 Years Today?

By Azuka Onwuka

download (7)

On August 27, 1991 Nigeria’s then military head of state, General Ibrahim Babangida, created 9 new states, to take the number of states from 21 to 30, having created 2 states in 1987 (Akwa Ibom and Katsina).

During that 1991 state creation, IBB split the existing Anambra State into two: Enugu and Anambra.

Enugu State got a new name but an old capital in Enugu city, while Anambra State got an old name with a new capital in Awka.

Enugu retained the old structure but got a new name. Before then there was no Enugu State, even though Enugu had been the capital of Eastern Nigeria since inception.

Anambra State retained the old name but had to build a new government house, new secretariat for civil servants, and other new structures for effective take-off in its new capital. But the name “Anambra State” not new: it was originally created in 1976 by General Murtala Muhammed.

This August 27, 2016 is the 25th anniversary of that state creation by Babangida. Eight other states were created that same day: Abia, Delta, Jigawa,  Kebbi,  Kogi, Osun, Taraba and Yobe.

This question now is: Between Anambra and Enugu which state should celebrate its silver jubilee on this 27th day of August 2016?

Which of them should be called the 9th state that was created on August 27, 1991?


  1. Bob D August 27, 2016 Reply
    • Azuka Onwuka August 27, 2016 Reply
    • Oduche Azih September 17, 2016 Reply

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *